And time goes by…

Dear Odalists folks,

 

I’m on a quest for the revival of the pagan calendar for months now. I took a break this summer after I have lost all my notes when my computer crashed. Now I’m back working on it. I was pretty reluctant to imply anybody else in the process at first but I think we can achieve it faster all together. My main aim is to calibrate the calendar with the lunar cycles and solstice and equinox in order to find when the leap year occur, the two days of samhain. Once the position of the leap year which occur every four years will be defined, we will all be able to use our calendar for the years to come. I think it will definitely be an important step forward for the oðalists in their quest for the revival of the pagan festivals and way of life. Here’s my try for the moon cycles of 2013-2014.
Calendrier Lunaire_Fred_wintersolstice_2013-2014
I am still working on the years back and forth in order to find when the leap year occur. If you want to participate in the process you’re free to try it on your own and share your results with me…  Time will tell us if we are righteous!

 

HailaR WôðanaR!

Frederik Blanchet

19 thoughts on “And time goes by…

  1. Wonderful, me and my girlfriend tried to best celebrate the coming of the new year. Of course there is technically no fixed date as some people simply wait until the first frost to signify the time at which the season of harvest has ended.
    People who live in the southern hemisphere also celebrate Samhain at the end of March. It’s of course relative to growing seasons, regionally.

    This work is excellent though, I’ve been doing some research myself in this area. Perhaps if I find something I think that is of use I’ll send it along!

    HailaR WôðanaR!

  2. I do not quite understand it. According to your calendar today (the 4th November) would be Friday the 6th Valaskjálfr. But should it not be Wednesday the 4th, because Samhein/Halloween/Hallowed Evening/Newyears Day is the 31st October? If this Samhain was a Leap-Samhain, then it could be Wednesday the 4th Valaskjálfr aswell (in case Samhain is on the 30th and 31st October) or Thursday the 5th Valaskjálfr (in case Samhain is on the 31st October and 1st November), but cannot be Friday the 6th Valaskjálfr. Or am i wrong, that Samhain is the 31st of October? Maybe the 31st October is just the modern date for it?

    • In the pagan era, the days were not counted from midnight to midnight but fron sunset to sunset. Samhain is said to be on the 1 of november in the celtic tradition. So in fact modern Samhain called Halloween starts on the 31 of october at sunset and takes end on the 1 of november at sunset. But the 31 of october is just the modern date. I refer to the solstice, equinox and lunar cycles to get it right. It seems that Samhain was celebrated on different day…

      • I knew the thing with the sunsets, but i thought that it would have been between the sunset of 30th October and 31st October… Anyway i already thought that it might just have been the modern date after seeing your calendar.

  3. Another thing that i realised with the pagan calendar is, that it is very
    inaccurate with only the rule about the leap years, that they occur every 4 years (as described in SRAS).
    I think we should adopt the rules of the gregorian calendar to make it more accurate. These rules are basically 3:

    1. Every 4 years there is a leap year.
    2. Every 100 years there is no leap year where according to the 1st rule should be one.
    3. Every 400 years there is a leap year, where according to the 2nd rule should not be one.

    This would mean that the average year has not 365,25 days, but 365,2425. In other words with this rule the average year is only 26 seconds longer than the real astronomic year, Otherwise it would be 674 seconds (or 11 minutes and 14 seconds) longer. That means with these 3 rules the year would only after about 3324 years of using them differ in one day from the actual astronomic year (i. e. for example the 2nd Himminbjörg would actually be when the calendar says it is the 3rd). With only the first rule this would be already after about 129 years.

    • All this is caused by our use of fixed unit of time. Seconds, minutes, hours, etc… What if they were only counting days refering on sunsets? I then think that most of the problem is solved. I think the leap year only occured to calibrate the fixed dates of the high festivals with the astronomic dates at a rate of more or less 2 days. Still I may be wrong on some points. I really appreciate your contribution. The questions you came with are really pertinent. I suggest you to make your own try of the calendar and share it with me…

      • I am not sure if i could do a better one then your calendar is. I think you are on the right track. Except for the vernal equinox, all the celebrations of the solstices and equinoctes are exactly when the astronomic solstices and equinoctes are, and the celebration of the vernal equinox is only two days before the astronomic vernal equinox. In my previous theory (with Samhain on 31st October), WS would be the 25th December, VE the 21st march, SS the 25th june and AE the 26th September.
        The only thing that still seems strange to me is that in your calendar Samhain does not seem to be the first November as you explained in a comment. There the first November is the third Valaskjálfr, but maybe first November for Samahain is a rather modern date too, because it was celebrated on different days (according to the new calendar), which were all around the first November. Anyway the celebrations for the solstices and equinoctes are (almost) identical with the astronomic solstices and equinoctes, so i think your calendar for 2013/2014 is the best solution.
        I am pretty sure though, that it would not suffice just to say that every four years Samhain is two days instead of one. This would mean that after 23559 years of using it summer would be the cold season and winter would be the hot season.

      • You’re right, that’s why I have to find when the leap year occur in order to keep the more or less 2 days of proximity between the festival dates for solstice and equinox and the real astronomical dates…

        Are you suggesting that even the leap years won’t be enough to calibrate the festivals?

    • You’re relying on fhe first Council of Nicaea. It is the christian version of easter…

      I am relying on the tradition in which Imbolc is said to be celebrated on the 7th sunday before easter. And imbolc was usually celebrated on the 1st of Þruðheimr…

Leave a Reply

